The Center's Board of Directors and executive staff are comprised of dedicated and passionate leaders.

Board of Directors

John L. Miscione, Chair

Alan Kolod, Vice Chair

Kenneth Pollak, Treasurer

Tracy L. Boak, Secretary

Susan Hirshman
Esther Lainis
Virginia Saloom

Judith Kahan, Chief Executive Officer

John Miscione, Board Chair

John Miscione is a Managing Director at Duff and Phelps and part of the firm’s ESOP and ERISA Advisory Services practice. He has more than 25 years of experience in corporate business transactions and financial advisory services. Prior to Duff and Phelps, John held senior level positions at Valuemetrics and Westminster Bank USA (a predecessor of Bank of America). He is a nationally recognized expert in ownership transition and private company finance who speaks widely on these topics.

Mr. Miscione holds an M.B.A. in finance from New York University, an M.A. in psychology from the University of Virginia, and a B.A. in psychology from Johns Hopkins University.

Judith Kahan, Chief Executive Officer

Since Judith Kahan became Chief Executive Officer in 1992, the Center Against Domestic Violence has created a wide range of programs that educate people of all ages about the warning signs of domestic abuse and how to escape from an abusive relationship. Community-based workshops and the Center’s school-based programs – the Relationship Abuse Prevention Program for high-school students, Speak Your Peace for middle school students, and Relationships are Elementary for elementary school students, all created under Ms. Kahan’s direction – aim to prevent abuse and break the cycle of violence before it starts.

As founder and co-chair of the Coalition of Domestic Violence Residential Providers, Ms. Kahan advocates for more shelters and affordable permanent housing for battered women and their children.

Executive Staff

Judith Kahan, Chief Executive Officer
Michael Henery, Controller
Rona Solomon, Deputy Director
Julie Pikaze, Director, Human Resources
Cynthia A. Dansby, Director, Quality Improvement
Luis Matos, Director, Education and Community Services
Elizabeth Springer, Director, Women’s Safe Start
Earla Lloyd, Director, Women’s Second Start
Marilyn Jupiter, Director, Women’s Survival Space